Midway Drone 20.jpg

October 11-13, 2021 - Midway, Kentucky

HEI 2021 Presidents Conference

Disruption Through Entrepreneuring: Radical Transformation of Higher Education in a Just-in-Time World

Scheduled 2021 Speakers: (Complete schedule coming soon)

Presidents of HEI 

Dr. Mary Landon Darden

Dr. Darden is the author of the books Beyond 2020: Envisioning the Future of Universities in America, co-published with the American Council on Education and Rowman and Littlefield and Entrepreneuring the Future of Higher Education: Radical Transformation in Times of Profound Change. Darden has more than two decades of higher education administration and teaching experience. She received the 2001 National Exemplary Award in Community Education from The National Council of Continuing Education and Training and the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Texas of the Permian Basin. Darden is a frequent keynote speaker on the future of higher education, including conferences with ACE, CEPA, CAP, STATMATS, and the University of Edinburgh, Scotland.

Chief Leadership Innovation Officer for HEI and
RETIRED President of the KCTCS

Dr. Jay Box

Dr. Jay K. Box has 30 years of outstanding community college leadership, including as President of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) – one of the top 10 systems in the country. He served on the White House’s American Workforce Policy Advisory Board, the national board for Rebuilding America’s Middle Class, and the  Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board. Dr. Box was also a member of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation’s National Advisory Group, the American Association of Community Colleges’ Sustainability Education and Economic Task Force, Southern Regional Education Board’s Commission on Career and Technical Education, and the Aspen Institute’s Innovation In Higher Education Working Group.


Dr. Box is the 2020 recipient of the Lifetime Leadership Award from Higher Education Innovation.

Belhaven University President Dr. Roger Parrott

Dr. Roger Parrott is in his 32nd year as President of Belhaven University in Jackson, Mississippi, serving 5,000 students through both traditional and innovative delivery systems.  He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Maryland in Higher Education Administration.  He is a third-generation college president and was one of America’s youngest college presidents when first elected at age 34. He has served on a variety of national higher education boards, as well as on international ministry boards.  Roger is the author a book articulating his leadership philosophy – The Longview: Lasting Strategies for Rising Leaders and a new book to be released in January of 2022 titled Opportunity Leadership:  How to Stop Planning and Start Getting Results.

Transformation and Innovation Coach

Dr. Greg Leman

Leman is a Black Belt in the Innovation Engineering™ System. He served in various operations and innovation leadership roles at Dow Chemical, Cabot Corporation, Cabot-Hüls (Rheinfelden, Germany) and at Great Lakes Chemical. As Clinical Professor in Entrepreneurship at Baylor University, Leman created and led the Technology Entrepreneurship Initiative that connected business, engineering and law students with technology commercialization projects and their corporate sponsors in the US and China. He founded the LAUNCH Innovative Business Accelerator at the Baylor Research and Innovation Collaborative (BRIC). He also served as Executive Director of the Start Up Waco entrepreneurial ecosystem for the Waco region. Leman currently delivers HEI workshops for current and aspirational College and University Presidents to prepare them to lead transformation on their campuses and serves in innovation project leader roles on these campuses as needed.

605 Austin Ave, Waco TX 76701